Tuiscope page header graphic showing Mt Pirongia, some hydrangeas and two Tuiscope logo tuis.
Header graphic, Diary of the Progress of the Story of the Dolphin Ripple

These reviews are copied over from the US Amazon siteThe dolphin Ripple. I did not ask for any of these reviews, and I certainly did not pay for any of them. They were freely given by the people who wrote them. I won't alter a thing, not even fix a typo. You can go to Amazon and check to make sure I haven't cheated. I've copied all of them that were there on the day I created this page, with one exception.
(I did fix one typo - a spelling error in a main heading)

The exception is a very favourable five-star review which I have not included because I happen to know that the person who wrote it had not read the book and was just doing it because he thought he was helping me. However I prefer Ripple to do well on her own merit, not on fake reviews, so I did not include that review.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Simply Astounding, January 13, 2012
By Jonathan Brazee (Bangkok)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Before I begin this review, I should point out that while my doctoral dissertation concerned dolphin mortality, and while I might find the dolphin's dual brain or two pods' cooperation with fishermen in Brazil and Mauritania fascinating, other than perhaps orca art, I don't have any great affinity nor enamor with any species of dolphin. Furthermore, I am not a great fan of anthropomorphization. So before I even picked up Ripple, I had already two strikes against it. But pick it up I did, and Ripple is, well, fantastic!

Ripple is the story of a prehistoric dolphin of the same name, roaming the primeval seas. Infused while still in the womb with a tired, worn-out spirit by an interfering deity, she is somewhat of an outcast, driven to find her place in the world, to discover the secret which gives her purpose in life. Ripple interacts with others of her pod, learning and growing in a world beset by predatory sharks, bad weather, and an evil, ravenous cephalopod. But there is also the joy of family, of belonging, of birth, and surfing.

Reading the short paragraph above, though, would not entice me to give the book a try. This book stands on the writing, the wordsmithing. It is a lyrical, well-crafted song, a poem in narrative.

The author has published children's fiction before, and that shows through in the clean, descriptive text. There is a little of Rabbit Hill in it, in the rhythm and pace, but I think there is more of Jonathan Livingston Seagull in concept and spirit. But with all due respect to those two books, Ripple transcends them both.

Most of the book is in the third-person subjective narrative mode from the point of view of several characters, Ripple being the primary protagonist. But to get some more omniscient information presented, part of the story is told by a deity, who along with a junior deity who imparted the spirit into Ripple, oversees and watches her progress. By providing a narrative voice via a first person viewpoint character, the information provided seems far more real and insightful.

As I wrote above, I have no great love nor affection for dolphins. No disdain, either, but I am not a delphinophile. However, I loved these dolphins, Ripple and Cosmos, a young male dolphin, in particular. I found myself actually getting stressed, my pulse rate climbing when Ripple was having problems getting her point across to the other dolphins. I was agitatedly asking myself how could they not understand her. I wanted to somehow will myself into the pages and make them see, make them understand. Needless to say, this was a pretty strong reaction for a middle-aged guy lying in bed with his Kindle, reading a book about a fictitious character. That the author was able to arouse my emotions like that is a testament to her skill.

The author has a vivid imagination. Dancing within the primary plot are fun, interesting, and engrossing threads which are being woven into a beautiful tapestry. While this is a fantasy, there is still enough biology to keep it running true. Dolphins ram sharks with their rostrums, they eat small squid, they surf waves for the seeming enjoyment of it, they rush to the surface to breath at the moment of birth, and they lift injured or sick dolphins to the surface so they can breathe. The dolphins in the story are in fact dolphins, not just people in dolphin skins.

I hate to sound too enthusiastic in praise in my reviews, but in this case, Ripple deserves all accolades. It is one of the best books I have read in a long, long time, and it may have vaulted into my all-time Top Ten list. If anyone gives the slightest value to my opinions, I ask you to take this book and absorb it, treasure it, make it part of you. And if any editor for a publishing house happens to pass by my little review, for goodness sake, grab this and get it out on the wider market. This book deserves a huge readership.

I read a lot, and I enjoy the written word. I almost didn't download Ripple, but I thank my lucky stars that I did. Thank you, Tui Allen.

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Fiction of the Great Import, an "Everyone Should Read"., November 28, 2011
By Mr. Richard Lw Bunning (Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland)
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Tui Allen's book "Ripple" should be as important to new generations as Rachel Carson's book "Silent Spring" was to mine. Carson's grew out of a life time of interest in Marine Biology. We now understand on a scientific level that by destroying our environment we are diminishing ourselves. Allen's book is a seminal work that takes us to the next level, more than most other work has done in the 50 years since. Allen can do for our metaphysical spirit what Carson did for our intellectual comprehension. Carson wrote of the nuts and bolts of environmental structure, and Allan of the essence of life itself.
But isn't this book just a short sentimental journey, flowing from Allan's clever perception of what cetacean life might actually embrace, namely, a sentient consciousness to rival our own.
Yes, and yet it is so much more.
This is a timely reminder, though we don't lack them in number but only of this quality, of what we are doing to the waters of this azure planet.
Can we heed this story as any more than a brief sentimental journey, as our brief tears over the likes of Joy Adamson's "Born Free"? Probably not! However, I insist we should. Allen's Ripple needs to be on our reading lists and perhaps it could even be some sort of film. Time will tell. Many reviews by far more influential critics than I will have to appear first, but this book is every bit good enough to join the common vernacular of our savage modern tribe, if the brush of fame can just be applied.
Who is to say whether "Ripple" will be simply another "science fiction drama" that touches a few lucky readers, or one that grows to touch our common consciousness, our understanding of ourselves? All I can do is send this weak bleat into the ether, without any hope of where it might fall. I hope that this sentimental delight doesn't prove to be a visionary documentary drama foretelling of the final extinction of sea mammals, sometime between 2207 and 2217 Anno Domini.
I hope the book's cover doesn't confine it to the young adult, and mostly female, shelves. It will sell well from them, but it is so much larger than this market. This is a book for every one of us who has a thread that still ties them to concern for the wellbeing of life, and not just a rope connecting them with the selfish survival of man. Unlike the other books mentioned here, this is certainly fiction, but not mere fiction, not mere, not for one fleeting second.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Ripple will live with me forever,
March 26, 2012
By Jay Howard "Cirrus" (Somerset, England)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Tui Allen has written a deeply moving story. I was unsure at first, but suspension of disbelief came very quickly. The descriptions are poetical and I shall be reading it a second (and probably 3rd and 4th time) just to fully appreciate the power of Tui's lyrical use of language. There are many passages that deserve to be savoured like a fine wine.

The various themes are woven effortlessly into a glowing tapestry. The love story grows around music, astronomy and mathematics, family love and support, the harsher realities of life, and the striving towards perfection.

This beautiful tale allowed me to live with the dolphins in their world, a world that extends from the deeps of our planet's oceans out into our galaxy and beyond. In their world the power of mind and spirit truly can achieve wonders, and we humans have a great deal to do if we are to catch up. This story is inspirational, and also a warning, shining a very harsh spotlight on human failings. I shall be recommending it to everyone I know. Bravo Tui!

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
You've never read a better book!
November 24, 2011
By Louis Tyrrell (New York, NY USA)
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
This is the most original book I have ever read! Tui Allen is a genius. The story is thrilling, the setting amazing, the reading almost a religious experience. Here is a book that denies classification. Is it young adult, is it fantasy, sci-fi, time travel, romance, biography or all of the above? The answer is yes, it's everything. Enthralling, you're captured in a unbelievable world so wonderfully brought to life by the author's brilliance. Ripple's birth, Ripple's adventures, accomplishments, romance and near death experiences keep the pages turning or the Kindle page button smoking. You're caught in a story losing track of everything around you. You're deep in the dark sea escaping killer octopuses, you're flying into the sky dazzled in golden sunlight. You're trapped in a winter with dwindling food. You're in ancient waters surrounded by thousands of dolphins whose thought transmissions fill the air with ideas. You meet Rigal, Ripple's brilliant father is an astronaut, Pearl, Ripple's mother is the epitome of what mothers should be. Get lost in this wonder of reads and earn the reward of a brilliant conclusion that puts dolphins in your life forever.

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
A remarkable book. Loved it!
September 26, 2011
By Jason Matthews "writer/author" (Truckee, California)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
I had the pleasure of reading this book before it was published, and I urged the author to get it on Kindle. It's a rare treat and has stayed with me long afterward. This book is true art and a marvel at how the author came up with the ideas, taking the reader into so many foreign worlds: the lives of dolphins, of universal guides, of life happening on and around this planet that our minds are completely unfamiliar with. The writing is professional and fun. All of the dolphin characters, especially Ripple and Cosmo, are such beautiful characters. As the story unfolds it feels like the reader is in the ocean and a part of their world, which in my opinion is the essence of great fiction.
Bravo, Tui Allen.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Enthralling Tale of Life, Love and Achievement.
January 3, 2012
By J Bryden Lloyd "J Bryden Lloyd" (Author - UK)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book out of pure curiosity, as I had seen a few of the reviews and despite the wonderful accolades, I still felt that this might just be a little too far outside my comfort zone to finish it.

The fact that it has taken me 10 days to deliberate how to go about this review is indeed a testament to just how good this book is.

* * * THERE ARE SPOILERS INCLUDED BELOW * * *

The birth of Ripple as an inquisitive dolphin born with an ethereal spark of spirit and a seemingly impossible mission to accomplish is the backbone of a story that leads you through the undersea world of dolphins when they first inhabited our world.

While the "beings of the hereafter" watch over them, the dolphins of Ripple's school are joined by a young fighter, Cosmo, who will grow to be a great astronomer and leader, as well as Ripple's life-partner. However, their initial meetings are mired by a combination of his own disturbed and haunted past and Ripple's mission/search for something she initially believes is totally beyond her.

I found the descriptive writing throughout all these early stages of the story was superb. There was little doubt of the pictures the author wished to create in your mind, from the flowing lines and relationships of the dolphins, to the strange but adorable Octopus, Squelch, and even to the worst of the monsters that lived in the deepest, darkest recesses of the ocean beneath the dolphins, there was no end to the wonderful use of Allen's exemplary writing talent.

When Ripple's mother dies, the use of descriptive moves to a whole new level. The way the dolphins grieve their loss and how it affects Ripple far more than her siblings is an almost tangible piece of emotional writing, but how that then focuses onto the new life that is Ripple's niece and her apparent success in creating the first music, and the subsequent effects of music on the dolphins, as well as those ethereal spirits beyond, is really quite magically described.

The ending takes place in the future, and is a hard-hitting bite at the hand of humanity and what we are and what effect we have within this world we call Earth and which, quite rightly, the ethereal beings and the dolphins know as "Azure".

* * * END OF SPOILERS * * *

In general, this is a work that should appeal to anyone who enjoys good strong writing and an equally good story. I read certain sections of this book twice - not because I didn't understand it, but because I wanted to "see" the vivid pictures it created all over again - and I was as absorbed the second time around as I had been the first.

This is a must-read and possibly something that would appeal to teachers with reading groups as well as those looking for a book to "escape into".

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
A romp in the ocean!
November 17, 2011
By Marianne S. Tong
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
What a delightful, frolicking romp with the dolphins as Tui Allen's book, Ripple, transports the reader into an oceanic world! Tui makes it easy to forget that one is not a member of the dolphin community. Instead of reading ABOUT dolphins, the reader experiences the woes and joys of several generations of a highly developed species with schooling for individuals with diverse talents and vocation. Throughout the book, a divine guide serves as the omniscient narrator while the dolphins take on charming and capable personalities who mesmerize the reader. Tui's purpose of "saving the dolphins" is never imposed upon the enjoyment of the story but carefully saved for the prologue.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Fresh and enchanting
January 11, 2012
By JJulieJ (Sydney, Australia)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Every so often, but not often enough, you come across a book like Ripple. It touches your heart, it touches your soul.

Tui Allen has captured the essence of the ocean as seen through the eyes of a young dolphin, and has written a story that is as fresh and as clean as an ocean wave.

We follow Ripple's life from her birth and as she matures we discover the birth of song which comes from her love.

This book is unique and I highly recommend it to everyone who wants to escape from our messy human world for a short time.

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Ripple an exceptional oceanic tale
September 20, 2011
By Bronwen Jones
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Ripple is an exceptionally creative and imaginative tale of dolphins and music. Totally original and beautiful. Tui Allen is a master storyteller.

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Azure...a better name than Earth
December 10, 2011
By Joseph A. Bergeron (Binghamton, NY USA)
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
"Ripple" is a highly unusual tale for a number of reasons, one of which is that it's one of the very few novels I've read that has almost no human characters (and the disheartening human coda could have been left out without harming the story, in my opinion). Instead all its main characters are prehistoric dolphins, watched over by benevolent Deities and carefully observed by a host of expectant proto-angels.

These dolphins have an advanced society and a profound life of the mind, despite their lack of any physical instrumentality and their inability to manipulate the physical world. They study mathematics, poetry, and many other subjects, and they are even able to explore deep space via their ability to separate their minds from their bodies, a method which I believe is as plausible and as likely to work as anything human technology seems likely to devise.

I don't know what dolphins are really like, how advanced their minds really are or what they perceive or think, but I'd like to believe they are like the dolphins in this story. They are all pure of heart, rational, cooperative and non-aggressive, unlike the warlike, corrupt anthropoid species of which I am a member. Tui Allen does a good job of telling the story from the perspective of the dolphins, taking into account their senses and physical abilities. They have a surprising awareness of the state of the atmosphere and even of the land, and of course they are acutely aware of their oceanic environment, where they must constantly be on guard against marine predators. Tui is also adept at describing the changing state of the sea and the waves as the dolphins perceive them, just as we are aware of small changes in the winds and the weather (assuming we ever go outside).

The story is told with a straightforward simplicity which might tempt one to classify it as a children's book, but it has its grim moments as well. The title character's struggle to make sense of the strange new thing she's striving to articulate is neither simple, easy, nor safe for her. It threatens her mentally as well as physically, but she persists with the guidance of some of her fellow dolphins. The story leads me to wonder whether any people we now class as insane are in fact reaching toward some indescribable new understanding as profound as what Ripple achieves.

The Deities who narrate this book are also a breath of fresh air. They are wholly benign, wishing only to assist the spirits under their care on their journeys toward fulfillment, while demanding nothing in return, neither worship, praise, fear, nor even recognition. They do not impose arbitrary rules on their charges and then threaten them with eternal torment if they do not obey. They do not foster the belief that these spirits are worthless or essentially corrupt. They are endlessly patient, and they truly embody the quality of mercy. I would like to replace the jealous gods who have haunted human minds since their invention in harsher, more ignorant times with deities such as these.

I must also mention the demonic cephalopod Erishkigal, a highly effective Lovecraftian villain featuring the unique conceit that each of her tentacles has its own name, mind, and personality.

I consider "Ripple" a great and original work which deserves a very wide audience. Anything that encourages people to think beyond the boundaries of their human limitations and preconceptions should be encouraged, because these limitations and preconceptions are destroying the planet and the fantastic array of life that permeates it. We have no idea who we share this world with, and the way we're going now, we may never know.

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Ripple
October 11, 2011
By Peter Blakeborough
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Ripple has a unique and ingenious plot and is well written. It will be a great seller. Well done, Tui Allen. - Peter Blakeborough

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
A must read!
November 24, 2011
By G. Clouston "Geri" (Wisconsin)
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
I read "Ripple" with little expectations and to my surprise I found a wonderful and meaningful tale that I will recommend to everyone. Tui Allen is a very talented - gifted- writer with an amazing imagination that took the reader on a journey that will stay with them forever.

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
An imaginative journey of discovery
December 25, 2011
By ?wazithinkin (Oklahoma)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Wow! What a delightful story, you can tell the author put her heart and soul into this tale. This is a wonderfully engaging story of how a single soul learned how to share the music her soul heard with the world several millennia ago. This hard fought for development brought change to the heavens and earth. This imaginative tale is told by the watching deities who give us a picture of a society on Azure and a bit of their society also. Tui Allen is a masterful storyteller, everyone will enjoy this journey of discovery.

5.0 out of 5 stars
An Astonishing Book
January 26, 2012
By Vic Heaney ",Author of "Vic's Big Walk"." (Pyrenean Foothills, France)
(REAL NAME)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
I have always had an affinity with dolphins and whales. I know that I was sketching a dolphin as my eldest daughter was born and I am very sad that for some reason I no longer have that picture to show her now that she is almost twice the age I was then.

One of the saddest books I have ever read is "The Last Whales" by Lloyd Abbey - I wish there were some way of making it compulsory reading for everyone on the planet so they would understand what we are doing to these beautiful, intelligent creatures which have been here for millions of years longer than humankind.

New Zealander Tui Allen has written an astonishing book which I believe will more easily become required reading because it is so attractive. Is Tui a dolphin? How has she managed to put herself into the mind of the cetacean? To tell a story of dolphins long ago, of course fighting their battles with other creatures of the sea to ensure their survival, but also living, learning, studying, developing sciences and skills which are later passed on to other creatures such as our own unworthy selves?

It has long been suspected by many that dolphins are at least as intelligent as humans, possibly more so, but that they lack the acquisitive genes which push us to property, wealth and wars. Tui takes us a step further down imagining their real lives, while still getting across the message that we are putting their very existence in danger and that they could be wiped out before we get the message of what they really are.

The lyrical and descriptive quality of the writing makes Tui's book something very special.

I would be very surprised if a major publisher or agent does not spot this book and elevate it to the wider audience it deserves.

Absolutely splendid, Tui.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Ripple
December 2, 2011
By Kiwi Reader
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Ripple is such an original tale that it defies easy categorisation. Characters like Ripple, Cosmo, Pearl and Rigel made me feel as though I had spent time with them in the waters of Azure, and I so wish I could communicate by 'thoughtstreaming'. Brilliant work Tui.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars
Truly Magical
November 29, 2011
By Katie Ink
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Tui Allen's love of dolphins shines through in this epic tale. You will share her enthusiasm and wonder as she skilfully unlocks the mysteries and delights of the undersea world. Believable and truly magical, you will be convinced Ripple exists and that she brought a divine gift to The Universe. Read this book and be charmed and inspired.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Kudos to Tui Allen,
February 22, 2012
By Shewhirler (Chalfont, PA United States)
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
This book is a joy to read. It is a love story between two individuals in the most traditional sense, but it is also about the love between parent and child, teacher and student, and community as a whole. Oh, and by the way, these individuals just happen to be dolphins from a prehistoric time. But don't let that throw you. They are just as intelligent, confused, sensitive, emotional, and brave as any human.
Tui Allen is a wonderful story teller. I love her writing style. The cadence of the story itself moves like the dolphins. Sometimes it is like a glissade, smoothly gliding along. At other times it's like a carefully choreographed ballet. And still at other times it jumps and whirls with dolphin-like speed and energy. The whole time you are adrift in this fluid world of activity, hope, misunderstanding, acceptance, and love.
For me, the feeling of this book was almost Zen-like. I felt like I was an observer watching life unfold, just like the two deities that watched Ripple from on high. Even when tragedy occurred, though I felt empathy toward Ripple and Cosmo and Rigel and Pearl, I felt oddly at peace--like I was simply witnessing the life-events that were shaping these individuals. Somehow I knew that all was as it should be and would be worth it all in the end. And I was right. At the height of the story, when Ripple is finally able to share her gift with Cosmo, I was so overjoyed it brought tears to my eyes.
Tui Allen may have hoped to raise consciousness about these beautiful animals with her story, but she also brings important life lessons to her human readers--lessons about acceptance, belief in oneself, and the courage to be who you are.

5.0 out of 5 stars
This Book Will Become a Classic
April 17, 2012
KiwiKathleen reviewed Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story
I've been humming a song all day - you know how you do sometimes. This hasn't been one of those irritating times when the song you're humming is a happy-clappy one that you really can't stand, or one that brings back sad memories, but rather the opposite. It's that hauntingly lovely song Bright Eyes which was sung by Art Garfunkel and was the theme song for the movie Watership Down. Some of us will remember it. More of us (probably) will have read the book. I think I still own a paperback copy.

Watership Down was first published in 1972 and was a phenomenon. I couldn't tell you when I actually read it, nor can I tell you whether I saw the movie or not (it came out in 1978, and I had definitely read the book before that), but I can tell you that everybody I knew loved the book, and so did I.

Other great anthropomorphic books are the Redwall series, which a friend of my son's told me I had to read (in fact, he loaned me his copies one by one), and the Duncton Wood Chronicles. These were around the 1990s, though I didn't read the latter lot until just last year. With there being close to 20 years from Watership Down to Redwall, and another almost 20 till I read Duncton Wood, I really can't give a comparison, though I could probably say that the Redwall series had less of the natural animal behaviour. I think I'd probably say that the intended audience was younger for that as well.

'Ripple' takes the genre to a whole new level. The author has clearly done thorough research on dolphin behaviour, and has interwoven this with an uplifting of what we already know as a highly intelligent species to a sentience that surpasses our own. The dophins on Azure not only choose to train as mathematicians or astronomers or fighters or healers or artists (etc.), but they communicate by thought-streaming and some of them can astral travel.

"Uh oh," you say, "that sounds a bit New-Age," and you wait for the scent of incense and wafts of floral music. But not so (and, as a matter of interest, the Theosophical Society brought ideas about auras and astral travel and telepathy to the West from Eastern esotericism over 130 years ago, so you may still think a suggestion of astral travel is flaky but it's far from New). And this is done as such a natural part of the story that there's not even a hint of crystal balls or softly tinkling bells.

Added to the life stories of these delightful dolphins we have Father Clement and Sister Sterne of the Divine Hierarchy. Father Clement is the narrator, and his wry commentary from time to time gives softly-comic relief to what otherwise could have become too earnest or too lovely. People who believe in angels will see these two as 'higher order' angels (as opposed to the seraphim, who are a fascinating item in this book). People who believe in karma (and I'm talking about the whole reincarnation + karma with some sort of structure to it, not the "what goes around, comes around" version) will see them as some kind of karmic overseers that guide souls along the way. People who believe in nothing beyond the physical will see them as a great fantasy element in the plot.

This book is a treasure. It's not a stay-up-till-the-wee-hours page-turner, but is a book that you'll want to take your time over and savour. It's like a fine wine that you linger over because you'll lose that piquancy if you have more than one glass and begin to lose your own clarity. It's like settling in to a moment that is so special you know the memory will last forever.

And here I am in danger of raving! I hate gushy reviews as much as I can't abide syrupy romances or mindless fandom. But seriously, I had to buy a copy, and I bought one for my mother to read on her iPad (both e-books - and I'm sorry my purchases aren't going to make the author rich, but my discretionary income is currently in the negative figures), and my father is reserving a physical copy from the library. The word needs to be spread - Read This Book.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Simply Beautiful..,
16 Sep 2012
By Lisa "book worm mum" (uk)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
I cannot give this story the words it deserves. As the title says it is simply beautiful. If I could buy this for my friends as a gift I would but sadly I think it is just in kindle format not paperback at the moment. I will eagerly wait to see if this changes. The author is a master if her craft. I want to read more and wonder if she must be a mermaid living in the ocean to so perfectly tell this dolphin tale..I wish every highschool could include it in their curriculum. I have been left with a sadness that the story has ended but also a very clear reminder of the beauty we have around us that we must cherish and preserve for our childrens sakes. Thank you Tui Allen I cant wait to read more of your stories.

5.0 out of 5 stars
2012 B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree
August 13, 2012
By G. Indiebrag
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
We are proud to announce that this book has been honored with a 2012 B.R.A.G.Medallion - telling you that this book is well worth your time and money!

5.0 out of 5 stars
Refreshing Story
April 23, 2012
By
Brian Bigelow "Brian Bigelow" (Colorado Springs, CO USA)
(REAL NAME)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting book. While I've always imagined dolphins as sentient, noble and able to communicate this goes a bit beyond what I expected. It's rather refreshing.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Delightful book for all ages,
April 3, 2012
By Dennis Layton (Cobourg, Ontario, Canada)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
On one level this book is simply a delightful tale about a group of dolphins, living the way they should live, with all the freedom and dangers that come with a life in the wild. On another level, this book will challenge your perception of dolphins. Most of us know of the scientific evidence of the level of intelligence that dolphins display. This evidence makes us see them as clever creatures, capable of learning tricks for our amusement. This book portrays dolphins as not only intelligent, but as beings capable of love, self-sacrifice, with minds that are filled with dreams and hope and much more. This book does not anthropomorphize dolphins, rather it challenges us to imagine dolphins as beings on a level equal or higher than ourselves, but different. None of this takes away from an engaging story, but like me after reading this book you might find that your perception of dolphins has been changed.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars
Delightfully different,
August 10, 2012
By mountainmama "Shirley Hicks" (Charleston, West Virginia, USA)
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
This is a totally original story - of deities who allow spirits to return to life to achieve their `purpose.' Ripple has been returned to earth as a dolphin, and we follow her quest to fulfill her destiny - an odyssey of seeking and learning to bring order out of chaos.

Beautifully written and impeccably edited, Tui Allen creates an underwater world filled with wonder, courage, and love. Very imaginative and deep; this story is a veritable symphony to the soul. Simply lovely.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars
Unique and Fresh
April 30, 2012
By Rebecca Walters
This review is from: Ripple - A Dolphin Love Story (Kindle Edition)
To say "Ripple" is creative is an understatement. I wondered when downloading it, if I would be able to get into it, or even if I would WANT to. I am an avid lover of dolphins, and have been all my life, but never would have thought to wonder at their romances.
This gave me a hugely different perspective than any book I have read, due to the uniqueness of its characters, and of its main plot, Ripple's search for something even she could not name initially.
it is suitable for about ages 10 and up, unless your child is very sensitive or alternately, mature. There are fairly graphic descriptions of sharks attacking dolphins and a few references to mental illness. As with any book for a child, I always suggest reading it yourself first, because you know your child best. It is very suitable for adults as well. To add to the book, the author adds poetry, which was quite pleasant. I gave it five stars because frankly the uniqueness of it and the creativity of it are exemplary, though there are more than a couple proofing errors. I can always overlook those however when a book is this ambitious. Thank you, Tui Allen, for sharing Ripple's story.

The following review is on Goodreads - not Amazon like all others on this page to date.
Darkpool rated it 5 of 5 stars Apr 17, 2012
For me, I think it was the last chapter that transformed this book from something fascinating, unusual, well researched and imaginative into something extraordinary. I'm delighted to have read it.

Tuiscope - 762 Te Pahu Road, RD5, Hamilton, New Zealand
Phone 07 8252008 - Mobile 021 2398347
Fax 07 8252048